Areas for Action

The draft River Basin Management Plan (RBMP) for the second cycle of the Water Framework Directive was published on the 28th February 2017, for a six month public consultation period, this ended on the 31st August. During this time the Local Authority Waters and Communities Office (LAWCO) convened a series of 124 meetings to engage with communities and other stakeholders. Over 950 submissions received have been collated for submission to the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government for consideration in preparing the River Basin Management Plan for Ireland 2018 – 2021, due to be published in early 2018.

In addition, a characterisation and technical assessment was carried out on all the water bodies at a catchment scale and a selected number of water bodies were chosen as priority ‘Areas for Action’ where resources can be focussed during the life of the RBMP. Local Authorities are holding public information sessions to provide feedback on the selected ‘Areas for Actions’ to Elected Members and the public.

MAP of Areas for Action – May take a minute to display depending on your broadband.

The information sessions will consist of a short presentation on the draft River Basin Management Plan consultation, an outline of the ‘Areas for Action’ and the reasons for selection, followed by an opportunity for question and answers. This is an opportunity to make further submissions before the River Basin Management Plan is finalised. There will be one meeting per Local Authority area and a list of those meetings scheduled are listed below. For more information please contact your relevant Local Authority.

RegionCountyLocal AuthorityLocationDateTime
ConnachtGalwayGalway County CouncilPeacockes of Maam Cross

Loughrea Municipal Offices

7:00PM - 9:00PM

7:00PM - 9:00PM
ConnachtLeitrimLeitrim County CouncilCouncil Chamber, Carrick on Shannon 26/10/20174:00PM - 6:00PM
ConnachtMayoMayo County CouncilMacalla Hall, Lough Lannagh Village, Castlebar12/10/20176:00PM - 8:00PM
ConnachtRoscommonRoscommon County CouncilCouncil Chamber, Áras an Chontae, Roscommon25/10/20174:30PM - 6:30PM
ConnachtSligoSligo County CouncilCouncil Chamber, Riverside, Sligo 06/10/20172:00PM - 4:00PM
LeinsterCarlowCarlow County CouncilCivic Offices,
Athy Road,
13/10/20172.00PM - 5.00PM
LeinsterDublinFingal County CouncilAtrium, County Hall, Main Street, Swords11/10/20174:00PM - 7:00PM
LeinsterDublinSouth Dublin County CouncilCounty Library, Tallaght17/10/20174:00 - 6:00 pm
LeinsterDublinDublin City CouncilDCC Civic Offices, Atrium27/09/20174:15PM - 6:00 PM
LeinsterDublinDun Laoghaire - Rathdown County CouncilCivic Officers, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council25/10/20174:00 - 7:00 pm
LeinsterKildareKildare County CouncilAras Chill Dara, Naas17/10/20179am - 7pm (Briefing session at 6pm)
LeinsterKilkennyKilkenny County CouncilNewpark Hotel, Kilkenny23/10/20176:00 - 8:00 pm
LeinsterLaoisLaois County CouncilMidlands Park Hotel Portlaoise 03/10/20173PM
LeinsterLongfordLongford County CouncilLongford County Council Offices, Great Water Street 11/10/20172:00PM – 3:00PM
LeinsterLouthLouth County CouncilTown Hall, Dundalk29/09/20174:00PM - 6:00PM
LeinsterMeathMeath County CouncilBuvinda House, Dublin Road, Navan, Co. Meath19/10/20174:00 - 6:00 pm
presentation at 4:00pm
LeinsterOffalyOffaly County CouncilBridge House Hotel, Tullamore30/10/2017 Bank Holiday Monday7:00 pm
LeinsterWestmeathWestmeath County CouncilMullingar Park Hotel, Dublin Road, Mullingar23/10/20177:00PM
LeinsterWexfordWexford County CouncilTalbot Hotel, Wexford17/10/20176:00 - 8:00 pm
LeinsterWicklowWicklow County CouncilCounty Buildings, Whitegates, Wicklow Town18/10/20174:00 - 7:00 pm
MunsterClareClare County CouncilTemplegate Hotel, Ennis26/10/20178:00 pm
MunsterCork Cork County CouncilCouncil Chamber, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road24/10/20177:30 pm
MunsterCork Cork City CouncilCouncil Chamber, County Hall, Carrigrohane Road24/10/20177:30 pm
MunsterKerryKerry County CouncilRose Hotel, Tralee18/10/20177:00PM
MunsterLimerickLimerick City and County CouncilCastletroy Park Hotel25/10/20177:30pm
MunsterTipperaryTipperary County CouncilAbbeycourt Hotel, Nenagh

The Main Guard, Clonmel


7:30 pm

8:00 pm
MunsterWaterfordWaterford City and County CouncilCivic Offices, Dungarvan

Bailey's New Street, Waterford City

1:00 - 3:00pm

1:00 - 3:00pm
UlsterCavanCavan County CouncilCavan Library, Farnham St., Cavan Town17/10/174:00 - 5:00 pm
UlsterDonegalDonegal County CouncilLetterkenny Public Services Centre09/10/20174:00PM - 6:00PM
UlsterMonaghanMonaghan County CouncilMarket House, Monaghan Town.17/10/20177.30 - 8.30 pm